CMS published the final rule containing the Medicare Physician Fee Schedule for 2009 on November 19, 2008. Included in the final rule are:

1.         Confirmation of the 1.1% Physician Fee Schedule increase for 2009.


2.         Designated Health Service list for 2009 for Stark/Physician Self-Referral purposes.


3.         Final performance standards for Independent Diagnostic Testing Facilities to be effective January 1, 2009.


4.         Anti-Markup Provisions.


I will be posting separate explanations of the IDTF and Anti-Markup rules next week.